Riyad Mahrez Named PFA Player Of The Year

Riyad Mahrez has been named PFA Player of the Year for his majestic contribution to Leicester City’s mind-boggling Premier League season.

Mahrez beat team-mate Jamie Vardy into second place at Sunday’s ceremony, while Tottenham striker Harry Kane was third. N’Golo Kante, Mesut Ozil and Dimitri Payet were the other three players to be nominated.

Leicester have notoriously made pre-season title odds of 5,000-1 look foolish as they have swept all before them to lead the league heading into the closing stages of the campaign.

Mahrez, with 17 goals and 11 assists in 34 games, has been one of the driving forces behind Claudio Ranieri’s title tilt, especially leading a cavalier first half of the season at the King Power Stadium.

Match-winning turns against Sunderland on the opening day, away to West Brom, Swansea City and Everton, not to mention his twinkling display when champions Chelsea were put to the sword on home turf and his stunning goal at Manchester City have made the 25-year-old a star.

Mahrez is Leicester’s first-ever winner of the award and also makes history by becoming the first African player to pick up the accolade.

The Algeria international is also the first winner not to play for Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Tottenham or Manchester United since Newcastle United’s Alan Shearer in 1997.


2 thoughts on “Riyad Mahrez Named PFA Player Of The Year

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s