Bayern Munich Win Fourth Straight Bundesliga Title

Bayern Munich have been crowned Bundesliga champions for the fourth consecutive season, and the 26th time in their history, after beating Ingolstadt 2-1 at the Audi Sportpark stadium on Saturday.

The German giants ended the match with an eight-point lead over second placed Borussia Dortmund, which suffered a 1-0 defeat to Eintracht Frankfurt. That would have handed Bayern the title regardless of their result today, as there is only one match left to play in the Bundesliga this campaign.

Robert Lewandowski secured the win for his team with a brace, opening the scoring with a penalty and then slotting home with a remarkable finish to double the lead.

The home side would hit back, but their goal had no bearing on the game or the title race.

Pep Guardiola’s men won 27 league games this season, losing only twice. There will be a chance for even more silverware when they face Dortmund in the DFB Pokal (German Cup) final on May 21st.

This will be Guardiola’s last match as Bayern boss. The Spaniard will take over from Manuel Pellegrini at Manchester City at the end of the season, and he will hope to snag another trophy as he makes his way out.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s