NFF’s False Claims Made Armed Robbers Attack My Family – Oliseh

Former Super Eagles coach Sunday Oliseh says kidnappers attacked his family member’s home in Lagos because they thought he has been paid his salary by the Nigeria Football Federation President, Amaju Pinnick.

According to him, false claims by the NFF President stating that the has been paid three months salary upfront made him an easy target for kidnappers.

“In October 2015, with the belief that I had millions from the NFF, kidnappers attacked a family member of mine’s home in Lagos, but thanks to God the intended victim was not at home,” Oliseh wrote on his personal website.

“Shaken at the news, I called Mr Amaju to inform him of my displeasure of his false public declarations in my regard and there and then the seed of resignation started to grow in me. Is this worth my peaceful family suffering?”

Oliseh was on a monthly salary of five million Naira but the coach who was supposed to be paid six months salary upfront says he never received them. The former Super Eagles midfielder said comparisons to then Bayern Munich coach Pep Guardiola by Pinnick were only meant to put him and his crew under pressure to fail.

He said: “On the day I was unveiled, the very vocal president of the NFF, Amaju Pinnick boasted to the world that he was going to pay me 6 months’ salary in advance, we were never ever going to be owed as he had procured sponsorship from Zenith bank, that he knows I am the African Guardiola etc. declarations that not only added unnecessary pressure on us but made us hated by certain quarters as ‘prima Donnas’. Far from smart at all!

“We now know that, that was a ploy to make the world falsely believe that I was giving all the tools to succeed whilst intending to eventually starve us of tools to succeed in reality to have a scapegoat and employ his dream foreign coach for obvious reasons, as was tried failingly recently!”

Oliseh had a short reign as Super Eagles coach after being appointed late Stephen Keshi’s replacement last year July before resigning in February.

Leave a comment